Raspberry Pi WiFi configuration in Raspbian

I recently bought a Raspberry Pi2 and installed Raspbian (version 2015-01-31), it comes with WiFi drivers preinstalled for the Realtek module which I used as my Raspberry Pi WiFi dongle.

So I though things will go smoothly once I have the /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file configured. So what I did was setup it with my wireless network configuration, which looks like below ( I use WPA2-PSK, with CCMP authentication, if yours is different you may need to configure this right first, I used the wpa_gui command in Raspbian for the following config).

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
ssid=”Raspberry”
psk=”PASSWORDINPLAINTEXT”
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
auth_alg=OPEN
}

However after setting that up and restarting didn’t really start up the network with a DHCP lease, nor my dongle lit up. So after an hour of monkeying with the /etc/network/interfaces file I got it sorted out. The reason was after initializing the wlan0 interface it wasn’t really calling the wpa_supplicant script for WiFi connection. So here is what I modified in /etc/network/interfaces file. Pay special attention to the post-up commands which gets run after taking the wlan0 interface live.

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-roam /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
post-up /sbin/wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
post-up /sbin/dhclient wlan0

iface default inet dhcp

The second “post-up” command is there to ask the router for a IP lease.

Be patient once you reboot the rPI with the above configuration, for the things to kick in and configure, it may take 2-3 minutes after booting the system.

Leave a Reply

